Southampton to participate in Premier League 2

By SFC Media time Wed 20 Jul Club

Southampton Football Club will enter a team into the all-new Premier League 2, which replaces the existing Under-21 Premier League, following a revamp of the competition.

Premier League 2 is formed of teams who can field teams of players predominantly up to the age of 23, though three ‘over-age’ outfield players and a goalkeeper over the age limit can be named in each game.

The competition format has remained the same, so Saints will compete in Division 1, which is made up of 12 teams that play each other once at home and once away to make up 22 league fixtures over the course of the season.

The team that finishes top of Division 1 will be the outright winner of the league, while the bottom two teams will be relegated to Division 2.

Last season, Saints finished sixth in the table, with Manchester United taking the title for the third year out of four.

Southampton’s 2016/17 Premier League 2 fixtures in full:

Sunday 14th August: Liverpool vs Southampton, 1pm

Monday 22nd August: Southampton vs Manchester United, 7pm*

Sunday 28th August: Sunderland vs Southampton, 12pm

Monday 12th September: Southampton vs Reading, 7pm

Monday 19th September: Leicester City vs Southampton, 7pm

Friday 23rd September: Southampton vs Tottenham Hotspur, 7pm*

Friday 14th October: Arsenal vs Southampton, 7pm

Monday 24th October: Southampton vs Manchester City, 7pm*

Monday 31st October: Derby County vs Southampton, 7pm

Monday 21st November: Chelsea vs Southampton, 1.05pm

Monday 28th November: Southampton vs Everton, 7pm

Monday 12th December: Southampton vs Sunderland, 12pm

Monday 9th January: Reading vs Southampton, 7pm

Monday 16th January: Southampton vs Arsenal, 7pm

Monday 30th January: Tottenham Hotspur vs Southampton, 7pm

Monday 6th February: Southampton vs Leicester City, 7pm

Monday 20th February: Everton vs Southampton, 7pm

Monday 6th March: Southampton vs Chelsea, 7.05pm

Monday 13th March: Manchester United vs Southampton, 7pm

Monday 10th April: Southampton vs Liverpool, 7pm

Monday 24th April: Southampton vs Derby County, 7pm

Friday 5th May: Manchester City vs Southampton, 7pm

*Played at St Mary’s Stadium. All other home fixtures will be played at Staplewood Campus.

**Please note that all fixtures are subject to change.


Touchline and Dine: A unique culinary experience
Club

Touchline and Dine: A unique culinary experience

Enjoy fine dining by the side of the St Mary’s pitch.

timeMon 10 Aug
Monday Briefing: August 10th Saints unveil 2020/21 away kit
Season Ticket instalment option: One week to go
Season Tickets

Season Ticket instalment option: One week to go

Saints fans can spread the cost of their Season Ticket at no extra cost.

time2 hours ago
ePremier League finals continue Player Awards votes now open