2013/14 Player Awards – The winners

By SFC Media time Tue 06 May Club

Adam Lallana was the big winner on the night at St Mary’s as he took home four awards from the 2013/14 Southampton Football Club Player Awards night.

Lallana was crowned both the Eterna Players’ Player and Verteda Fans’ Player of the year, following in the footsteps of Morgan Schneiderlin, who achieved the same honour in 2012/13.

The skipper also took home the Saints Away Travel Club Player of the Year and the Justice Goal of the Season, capping a memorable year for the midfielder who helped lead Southampton to an eighth-place finish in the Barclays Premier League, as well as making the breakthrough at international level.

There were six prizes handed out in total on the night, with the eye4TALENT Scholar of the Season award for Jake Hesketh and the President’s Choice prize for Jack Cork completing the list on a memorable evening hosted within the Mike Channon suite inside the stadium.

The event itself was compered by Sky Sports presenter Ed Chamberlin, with players, management and guests enjoying a three-course dinner before the awards ceremony began.

First up on the list of accolades was the Eterna Players’ Player of the Season, the award voted for by every member of the First Team squad.

Winner: Adam Lallana

Next up, was the eye4TALENT Scholar of the Season. This is an award given by the Saints Academy to the player who has impressed the most through their all-round contribution to playing and training. It was an award previously won by James Ward-Prowse.

Sam Gallagher, Jake Hesketh and Josh Sims were all nominated this time around, with Academy Manager Matt Hale presenting the prize to:

Winner: Jake Hesketh

It was then onto the Saints Travel Club Away Player of the Season, as voted for by the supporters that travelled up to each away game of the 2013/14 Premier League season. They were in agreement with their fellow fans in choosing the man who should succeed Morgan Schneiderlin as their outstanding performer.

Winner: Adam Lallana

Honorary President and Saints legend Terry Paine MBE was then on hand to present a new award for this year with the President’s Choice prize given to the player that Paine himself felt had been instrumental over the course of the season.

Winner: Jack Cork

The penultimate award of the evening was one voted for on the night by both those in attendance and people able to vote online during the ceremony. 

The Justice British Designer Jewellery Goal of the Season award saw seven strikes listed and played out on the screens inside the suite to allow everyone to make an informed opinion!

The final three were as follows:

3rd: Adam Lallana vs Newcastle (H)

2nd: Jay Rodriguez vs Fulham (A)

1st: Adam Lallana vs Hull City (H)

Lallana’s mazy run and strike succeeded Jason Puncheon’s effort against Chelsea last season as the club’s top goal of the campaign, something which was greeted with great admiration within the room.

The final award of the evening was the Verteda Fans’ Player of the Season, which Adam Lallana scooped the largest number of votes from supporters via our online poll on saintsfc.co.uk

The final three were polled as follows:

3rd: Jack Cork (4.84%)

2nd: Jay Rodriguez (22.23%)

1st: Adam Lallana (58.66%)

Finally, the groundsmen were also recognised for their efforts throughout the season. After recently sharing the Premier League pitch of the year prize with Arsenal, St Mary’s Head Groundsman Andy Gray was presented with a special award on behalf of his team at both the stadium and at Staplewood.

Get the latest safety guidance ahead of Man City game

Get the latest safety guidance ahead of Man City game

Fans are advised to arrive early with entry points installed to allow Covid-19 status checks.

time3 hours ago
Be match ready for Man City game Forever Saint award: Sue Lopez
U18 Preview: Brighton vs Saints
Brighton vs Saints

U18 Preview: Brighton vs Saints

Saints' youngsters travel across the South coast.

time16 mins ago
photo Gallery: Marching towards Man City photo Women's Gallery: Building to Bournemouth